Aya’s Litre of Tears

“As I think about the past, the tears will come out. Reality is too cruel, too brutal. I don’t even have the right to dream. As I think about the future, the tears will come out again.”- Aya

I’ve heard from my friends that watching 1 Litre of Tears (1 Litre no Namida) would really make you cry like literally a litre of tears. So I had made a mental note on including it in my Thou-Shall-Not-Watch list. I used to dislike watching heavy drama series cause they’d make me feel depressed for at least a couple of weeks thus making it difficult for me to move on. But last week, just for no particular reason, I decided to watch it with my family. My friends were right, the show was indeed so emotional that it moved me to tears. I felt awful! But I’d still say that it was one of the best shows I’ve watched. I’ve learned some important lessons from it.

First, that life is unfair and that there is nothing we can do but to accept that. We can keep asking questions like why it has to be us? Or what if it had been different? But as much as we’ll never really know the answers, we also can’t do anything to change it. So whatever it is that life throws at us, no matter how hard and painful it may hit us, the best way to deal with it is to accept it first. And from there, we’ll learn to be brave to face it. Just as Aya cried a litre of tears when she found out about her illness, we can also cry even more than a litre if that’s what it’ll take to ease the pain and frustration. After all, crying is a way of facing reality.

“I really don’t want to say things such as ‘I want to go back as how things were before.’ I recognize how I am right now, and I will continue to live on.”- Aya

Second, that no matter how unfair or miserable life may be, we should still value it. Why do we keep fighting to overcome the challenges in the first place? We do it to survive, because we want to live. So despite the big problems we face, we shouldn’t forget the most important thing. –We are alive. We’ll never know what exactly’s going to happen tomorrow, or the day after. So we shouldn’t let the big problems conquer our life today. We should always remember that aside from the bad things, there are a lot more good things in life. We musn’t allow the darkness to blind us. Instead, let it be the reason to make the good things even brighter.

“What’s wrong with falling down? You can always stand up again. If you look up at the sky after falling down, the blue sky is also today stretching limitlessly and smiles at me… I’m alive.” -Aya 

Third, instead of wishing life to be better, we should be thankful of what we have now.  Some people have it worse. We should celebrate and make the most of what we have. Just recently I discovered a lump on my neck and found out that it’s goiter. I was so devastated. For a moment, I questioned God for the challenges He’s been giving me and my family recently. I thought my life couldn’t be more miserable. But after watching 1 Litre of Tears, I realized that some people have problems that are way bigger than mine. Challenges that I wouldn’t even know how to handle them myself. After some consultations and tests, my doctor confirmed that it’s not very dangerous and that it can be treated with medication. I felt so relieved. I realized that I overeacted. I don’t know what else life would throw me but, I’m sure of one thing. I’ll be braver and stronger next time. That no matter how ugly the problems may be, life would still be beautiful. Aya’s litre of tears taught me this.

“Even though I have been hurt before by those heartless glares, this also helped me to understand that around me, there still exist some gentle glares. Therefore, I definitely won’t run away. That’s what I’ll do. Definitely. Always.” –Aya

Leave a Reply

