The Hunger Games Movie Review

Ceasar Flickerman (Stanley Tucci) and Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence)

Finally!!! After almost a year of anticipation, The Hunger Games Movie is here! I’ve waited too long for  it that I just had to watch it on the first day! I couldn’t wait to see the movie adaptation of one of my favorite books.

In the first few minutes of the film, I had a hard time adjusting to the swift movement of the camera. It was quite difficult focusing my eyes on the screen. I was afraid I would have a headache. Thankfully, that ‘style’ wasn’t used all throughout the entire movie. I guess it was the director’s way of showing the shaky life in district 12? I’m not sure what was up with it. I’m just glad they stopped it after the reaping scene.

The capitol didn’t look as glorious as I had imagined it when reading the book but it was fine. At least they clearly showed the capitol’s ‘unique’ fashion. One of the things I was really looking forward to in the film was Katniss and Peeta’s costumes in the parade and Katniss’ dress in her interview with Ceasar Flickerman. The book was quite detailed and grand in the description which I think makes that part significant. I was kinda disappointed though to see that we didn’t even have a full view of Katniss and Peeta’s customes in the parade. They could have at least shown the scene where Cinna lighted them up. The fire was just so artificial to me. It didn’t make my heart stop, as opposed to what Ceasar Flickerman said. Uhm, the girl on fire? Where? I wasn’t so happy with the effects either. The hovercraft and the mutts didn’t seem realistic enough. But anyway, the film wasn’t all about the effects.

What I loved the most about the movie was the characters! Hello, Effie Trinket? She was totally the way I imagined her to be. I just love her outfits! Elizabeth Banks did a really great job on portraying her role. Jennifer lawrence (Katniss Everdeen), Josh Hutcherson (Peeta Mellark), Liam Hemsworth (Gale Hawthorne), Stanley Tucci (Ceasar Flickerman), Wes Bentley (Seneca Crane), Lenny Kravitz (Cinna), Alexander Ludwig (Cato), Isabelle Fuhrman (Clove), Amandla Stenberg (Rue) and so on.. They all did an incredible job! Each of them gave justice to the characters in the book.

Changes made (Movie vs Book)

    • Hovercraft scene when Katniss and Gale were at the woods-in the book, they also saw a boy and a girl being taken away by the hovercraft
    • Katniss got the mockingjay pin at the hob- instead of receiving it from Madge Undersee after the reaping
    • Katniss met Cinna in something like a hospital gown instead of being naked
    • Peeta initiated to hold hands with Katniss during the parade- instead of Cinna asking them to
    • Rue secretly took Cato’s knife- this scene doesn’t exist in the book
    • Katniss almost got hit with Clove’s knife on the chest while she was down on the ground – instead of almost getting hit on the head while she was running away from the cornucopia
    • Katniss was the only one attacked with fireballs because she was almost at the edge of the battleground- all the other tributes were also attacked with fireballs in the book so as to gather them in the same area
    • When katniss came to after the tracker jacker incident, she discovered that her tracker jacker bites have already been treated by Rue- in the book, Katniss and Rue got together in a different incident
    • Rue got hit with a spear right after Katniss freed her from the trap- in the book, Rue got hit with a spear even before Katniss could reach her
    • District 11’s outburst after Rue’s death- doesn’t exist in the book
    • Rue told Katniss Peeta’s probable location- Katniss searched for Peeta in the book
    • Haymitch convincing Seneca Crane to let the audience root for young love- scene doesn’t exist in the book
    • Peeta camouflaged himself in a rock- in the book, he camouflaged himself in the mud
    • In the feast, the backpacks were of the same sizes- different sizes in the book
    • Thresh killed Clove by slamming her into the wall thus causing her neck to snap- in the book, he killed Clove by denting her skull with a big rock
    • Thresh was killed by the mutts- the cause of his death wasn’t really described in detail in the book, but he was probably killed by Cato
    • Seneca Crane was locked in a room where he was made to eat a bowl of Nightlock (deadly berries)- this scene doesn’t exist in the book

Despite the changes that were made in the movie, I still enjoyed watching the  film. Many of my friends liked the film, including those who did not read the book. Though, it kinda frustrates me to hear some comments that show how little they understand about what was really going on in the story. And just for the sake of sharing about how I think the movie should’ve been, here goes my personal thoughts about it… There are things in the book, which I think are important but unfortunately not included or not emphasized enough in the movie. I wish the film had shown even a short overview/info about each of the districts and their tributes, especially about the ‘Careers’.  Non-book readers would’ve understood why Cato and his alliance couldn’t climb trees, and not laugh at how they sucked in capturing Katniss. I also wish they had shown more of the ‘bread scene’. The flashbacks were not enough. How would people know that Katniss was actually starving to death in that scene if they hadn’t read the book yet? The film was also misleading when it comes to Katniss’ feelings towards Gale and Peeta. I heard a lot of gushing at the theatre when Katniss kissed Peeta. If they only knew that Katniss was doing it to get more support from sponsors. And that she was actually thinking about Gale. I think they could’ve used a little voice over from Katniss’ point of view.

****

Overall, I’d say that the movie adaptation of The Hunger Games was great. From the start, I had anticipated some changes from the book. It’s still up to the film makers whether they would follow through everything in the book or not. I had my own version of how I wanted the movie to be  but of course, they are just my own expectations. I respect what the producers, script writers and director had decided. From what I’ve seen from the first installment, the production did an incredible job. Now I can’t wait to see more in the next film, Catching Fire! Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

