Jinibebe

Okay, so after posting the pictures from the wedding, I just couldn’t go on without saying anything about the bride, who is a very dear friend to me. Jenevieve or Jen as we all usually call her (and sometimes Jinibebe for me), is one of my group mates in my major subjects in college. She is such a sweet sweet girl with that distinct childlike way of talking. That was actually what I first noticed in her. Bakit ang bagal niya magsalita?, I used to wonder. It might bother you a little at first but you’ll get the hang of it after a while. Eventually you’ll realize that it’s one of the things you’ll like about her. She’s smart, diligent, responsible and not to mention, OC- in a very good way. Believe me, you could definitely use someone like her in your group. But I should also tell you that she’s a perfectionist. She’s very committed and determined to do the best in every work and she radiates this to everyone in the group. Jen is also malambing and super makulit!! Better watch when her kulitness strikes!
Among my group mates, Jen was the last person I could imagine to marry. Not only was she the youngest among us, but she also hadn’t been in a relationship for quite a while. Plus, she wasn’t the type of girl who would go through marriage sooner. I witnessed how attached she is to her  family and I thought it would be difficult for her to let them go. She was their baby girl. So when I found out about her engagement, I was like– Jen’s getting married!!!? I was surprised and excited at the same time!
Not long ago, our other batch mate also got married with someone she met during her internship in the US. So when Jen also met someone (also during her internship in the US), I would tease her and say that she’ll be getting married next. And true enough, nag-dilang anghel ako!!! Jen did get married next!
Despite the fact that I was miles away from Manila, I wouldn’t dare miss a dear friend’s wedding. To be honest, I was also very curious about her fiance and was concerned if he was really the one for her. It hasn’t been long since she met the guy so I thought Jen must have fallen hard for him.The last thing I wanted was for her to get hurt. Given the cultural difference and the length of their relationship, I couldn’t be too sure until I meet him personally.
And so came the big day. It was nice to be with friends whom I haven’t seen in a long time. We were so thrilled to see the wedding. We didn’t get a chance to talk/chika-chika with the bride but it was clear to us that she was very happy. Jen looked really lovely in her wedding dress. Seeing her walk down the aisle with her parents was very touching that I almost cried. Mike himself was an equally handsome groom. He was obviously in love with Jen. It was all over his face as he watched the bride walk to him. I couldn’t be happier for the both of them. The garden wedding did not push through due to the rain but it didn’t stop the sheer joy and love reflected in everybody’s faces on that special day.
Leave a Reply

